Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Irq Problems Between Graphics Card And Sound Drivers

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ymom182

ymom182

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:09 PM

Posted 14 February 2006 - 10:39 PM

hey guys this is my first time posting here and i have a problem, i just recently installed a new graphics card (ati x1900xt) from an (ati x800) with the install of the new card came a new problem, although they are in the same pci express slot the IRQ of the Vid card and the Sound processor are interfering with one another creating system crashes or slow processing speeds (mabye because of the more powerful card this is happening?) i have already checked to see if i could change the IRQ through the settings and it is set to an unchangeable default unless i mess with the bios of the mobo which i am not prepared to do. Aside from getting a new sound card and dissableing the old one that is built into the mobo what is there that i can do?

Haha way to make an introduction huh? :thumbsup:

and in desperation i am currently running an alternate set of drivers on the new card called omega drivers if that says anything.

i run
500watt powersupply
1.5 gig ram
3.0 ghz p4
200gig hd
ati x1900xt

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 welco

welco

• Members
  • 130 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:09 PM