Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Troubleshooting new lockups

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 stevebeasn

stevebeasn

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:35 PM

Posted 06 February 2012 - 08:55 PM

Hey everyone,

Here is the situation. My girlfriend and I started playing Star Wars The Old Republic. She had some incredible lag despite her system actually being a bit stronger than mine, yet I get none.

Here is/was her current setup:

Win Vista x64
4 gigs ddr2 ram (2x2)
Asus P5QL Pro Mobo
Nvidea GeForce 8800 GT
Core 2 Duo @ 3.00 Ghz

I realized her memory was a bit low for 64 bit, so I picked up another 4 gigs (2x2) and when I went to put it in, I noticed her cpu fan heatsink was incredibly dusty. I airdusted the heat sink (though didn't help much), threw in the sticks and thought I was gtg.

- Lockups began right away and got worse quickly. I installed a heat sensor app to see her cpu was idling at 60+(!!!). Obviously what happened was when I dusted the heatsink, I must have impacted dust even further.