Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Drives

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Johnee

Johnee

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:23 AM

Posted 06 February 2012 - 01:57 PM

emachines e4216 desktop, 3 Ghz Pentium Dual core, 2 Gb RAM, Windoze 7.

I have been using my desktop for six months with an internal 500 Gb IDE HDD as a storage drive with no problems, without jumpers. I recently wanted to run XP Pro from a partition on the main (OS) HDD (ATA), I've done this before, but this time when I re-booted after installing XP, the original O/S (W7) would not boot up, and I found that the PC was trying to boot from the 500 Gb storage dv.
I ended up removing it and all was working OK, I re-connected it and it tried to boot from it again, I tried to select my main drive as boot dv in the boot settings which works, but then the next time it tries to boot from the storage dv again - I saved the settings but still defaults to the storage dv. I tried without jumpers and also as slave, CS, as 15 head and 16 head as I can't find out which mine is.
I deleted the partition and formatted the main dv, re-installed W7 and got it all working again, tried to connect the storage drive again - i.e. as it was before, and it tried again to boot from the storage dv.