Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need help eliminating Trojan.ZeroAccess.B

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 LavosKiller

LavosKiller

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:14 AM

Posted 13 January 2012 - 01:49 PM

Hello, this is my first time posting here. I am in need of assistance eliminating this Trojan.ZeroAccess.B rootkit from my mom's friend's laptop. The laptop model is a Toshiba C655D-S5300 and it is running Windows 7. I have been at this for several days. What I have tried thus far is the following, to the best of my memory:

Note that one of the traits of this variation is that whenever I try to run a .exe program, a dialog box appears asking which program I would like to open the .exe program with. (It treats these programs like files) I am able to fix this much of the problem by taking a clean EXE.reg from a DVD to the desktop and merging.

Attempt 1: