Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

linux 11.10 - Desktop issues

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 dayers11

dayers11

• Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:39 PM

Posted 11 January 2012 - 10:33 AM

Ok - so Im an Ubuntu newbie - but I have an older laptop that I've installed 11.10 on to try out and liking it for the most part.

I am having trouble with a few things because they just don't work like windows now do they ?

My issue is with my desktop. I have the typical look with a launchbar on the left and in infobar across the top.

I would like to add some things but I haven't had any luck.

I'd like to add some things to the top bar like volume control - shut down - etc. but cant seem to edit this bar at all.

Also I would like a bar at the bottom that shows minimized windows - can I add that ?? Id also like a desktop button and maybe add a few folders to the launchbar.

I can't seem to do any of this - do I need a program?

I'd appreciate any advice.

:clapping: :clapping: :clapping:

Edited by dayers11, 11 January 2012 - 10:34 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 michael-m

michael-m

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:39 AM

Posted 11 January 2012 - 04:28 PM