Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Award Bios beep codes after RAM install and removal

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 devil81

devil81

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:07 PM

Posted 04 January 2012 - 12:00 PM

Hi:

I have an M2A-VM motherboard and stupidly as it turns out especially as I'm an IT professional and should know better, I decided to up rate my memory using memory from a donor machine, now here comes the stupid part, I looked at the RAM and thought that looks right without checking whether it was DDR2, it wasn't. I installed it, powered on the machine and got 1 beep [long] 2 [short] repeating, so I removed the offending RAM. But I'm still getting the 1 beep [long] 2 [short] repeating, and all I did was install that one RAM stick. So I investigated the beep codes for my AWARD bios and this is the closest I can find:

1 Long Beep, 3 Short Beeps
One long beep followed by three short beeps means that either the video card isn't installed or the memory on the video card is bad. Reseating or replacing the video card will typically fix the cause of this Award beep code.

But it cannot be the graphics card as I hadn't touched it and its brand new less than 2 weeks old but I removed and reseated it, just in case but the error reoccurred, so I tried other things without success including:

• Reseating the original RAM