Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Created new user account, original Administrator account disappeared


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 the2bachic

the2bachic

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Georgia, USA
  • Local time:12:44 AM

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:04 PM

I was having some trouble with a newly installed program failing to run. Their tech support had me create a new user account (start, control panel, user accounts, create new account). I did not realize that creating a new administrator user account by following their instructions would make the original Administrator user account inaccessible. I dug through folders and found my documents and made sure they were all on my expansion drive. Now, I want my account back. Otherwise, I have to set up my entire computer again. The thought of this makes me turn into a velociraptor who wants to destroy the tech support that told me to do this.

As of right now, I have not internet connection on my computer. I tried searching forums from my phone, but it was extremely difficult (not the best phone). If this topic already exists and I just could not find it, please accept my apologies for the duplicate and post a link. Thanks!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 the2bachic

the2bachic
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 153 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Georgia, USA
  • Local time:12:44 AM

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:30 PM

I just remembered that I could CTL ALT DELETE twice at the Welcome screen to get to the logon and type in Administrator. I haven't used it in years, so it did not occur to me. I am now in my administrator user account. If I delete the new user account, will it go back to the way it was before? Or will I screw something else up by doing that?

#3 Allan

Allan

  • BC Advisor
  • 8,643 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Local time:11:44 PM

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:40 PM

You can delete the user account




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users