Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Freezing at log on screen

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Brian on Skye

Brian on Skye

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:58 PM

Posted 02 January 2012 - 08:39 AM

I have been using Win 7 Ultimate 64bit for about 6 months. About 2 months ago this behaviour started and I was unable to associate it with any changes I had made to the machine.
Windows boot proceeds normally until the jingle and appearance of the logging on screen. At this point the computer becomes unresponsive to keyboard or mouse for a random time varying between 2-3 seconds and indefinitely. In the case of indefinitely I have to shut down by the power switch 3 second press and try again. My guess is that something I installed or something that installed itself is trying to call home at this time and prevents all other actions while it waits for a reply. Sometimes I have found that I can log in immediately after removing the network cable. I run Norton Internet Security which is up to date and reports nothing. If I try using the windows repair facility from the Win 7 disk to detect boot problems it reports that the boot that I had to abort was in fact successful. I guess it doesn't count anything after the log in screen.