Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

TDL4 rootkit from hell

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Nanuke

Nanuke

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:45 AM

Posted 02 January 2012 - 02:17 AM

Well first off let me say that this rootkit is one the worst I've seen, and I've been repairing computers for over 30 years.
Let's get to it. TDL4 makes a hidden partition on your computer, and writes itself into your MBR, so you well get nowhere till you remove it from this two places.
I used Acronis disk management boot disk, and found and deleted the rootkit partition. It had made my primary partition inactive, and made itself the active partition, so remember to set your primary active. Then I booted from my windows disk, and opened the command console. Then run fixmbr, to replace the infected one. Next boot into safe mode, and run your anti-virus software. I used hit man pro, and then TDSSkiller, and finished off with combo fix. No more rootkit, or that's what my anti-virus says.

Hope this helps. This was how I spent my new years. If you know who wrote this thing, please give him/her a slap for me. Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Elise

Elise

Bleepin' Blonde

• Malware Study Hall Admin
  • 61,252 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:45 PM

Posted 02 January 2012 - 05:34 AM

Hello, and thank you for sharing your solution!