Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

hardware, software, or virus problem??

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Lynnie7

Lynnie7

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:35 AM

Posted 31 December 2011 - 12:45 PM

Hi folks, I'm a long time novice user that tries to be safe on the net, etc, but despite that I've developed a problem on my 3.5 yr old HP pavilion laptop running vista. This all began before Christmas during the night sometime. when I finally got it to boot it installed 'update 3 or 3' which I assumed was a windows update....looked like that screen.

It tells me, when I can get anything up, that I have a security problem and the security center needs attention. In safe mode, which is the only thing I can get up now, I click on the security icon in the task bar and try to turn on and it tells me it can't turn on. Nothing will run for any length of time before the laptop craps out. so can't run virus scan etc. (AVG, Zonealarm, adaware, spybot are on this thing)

Ran 'Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2' which I see by the heading for this forum is not supposed to be posted here, however at the end of that thing nothing was checked and nothing was 'fixed', so clueless about its usefulness I guess.