Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Last User Script

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 RandomUser

RandomUser

• Members
  • 518 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:05 PM

Posted 07 February 2006 - 03:52 PM

I'm new to scripting and I'm running into some headaches with a particular script. (still on the drawing board.)

I would like to capture information about the last user. I know the typing "Net User Username" will tell me when the last user logged on to the machine. I would like to write a logon script to compare this to when the user logs off.

Does windows write this information to the registry?
If it does, then where?

If not, How can I verify the logoff process?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Swandog46

Swandog46

• Members
  • 134 posts
  •  

Posted 13 February 2006 - 12:44 AM

I didn't know the answer to this before reading your post, so thank you for teaching me something new :thumbsup:

I ran the "net user" command under Sysinternals' excellent Regmon tool:
http://www.sysinternals.com/utilities/regmon.html

(I also used Filemon but the results weren't edifying at all).