Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I used autoruns and I think I have disabled programs I needed

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 dagtag

dagtag

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:51 AM

Posted 29 December 2011 - 01:34 PM

I am a computer novice who decided my computer was running too slow at startup. I searched the microsoft help site and came across the program autoruns and disabled several programs I thought I was not using. I don't remember which programs I disabled. I realize this was a mistake. My computer starts quickly now but my audio is disabled and my internet will not connect. Every thing else seems to be in working order. How can I find autoruns on my computer again? I am not sure if I downloaded it or just ran it. Is that even possible? I would like to enable all the programs I disabled or should I? Could what I changed in autoruns be causing the problem? I already went through this process:

•Open System Configuration by clicking the Start button , clicking Control Panel, clicking System and Security, clicking Administrative Tools, and then double-clicking System Configuration.‌ If you're prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

All of the programs listed there are enabled. I am using Windows 7 with a Dell Inspion. Thank you so much for any help :)