Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MBAM

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Computer-man_*

Guest_Computer-man_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:04 AM

Hello,

I got an upgrade from MBam and in that upgrade version have you a pup and pum function.
My question in these is: What is Pum.?
Pup is from my opinion; short screen with advertisement, but I am not for 100 % sure, but Pum.?
This is the first time that I did read about Pum.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,749 posts
  •  

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:45 AM

PUP = Potentially Unwanted Program
PUM - Potentiaoally Unwanted Modifcation

If you launch MBAM, click the Settings tab, then choose Scanner Settings you will see the options for taking action with PUPs or PUMs. Since such programs are not necessarily malicious, MBAM gives you the choice of scanning for them.

A Potentially Unwanted Program (PUP) is a very broad threat category which can include any number of different programs to include those which are benign as well as malicious. They may also be defined somewhat differently by various security vendors.
Windows Insider MVP 2017-2018
Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2016
Microsoft MVP Consumer Security 2007-2015 kO7xOZh.gif
Member of UNITE, Unified Network of Instructors and Trusted Eliminators