Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Questions About Face book


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Dennis H

Dennis H

  • Members
  • 893 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 19 December 2011 - 09:15 AM

Howdy,

I had a question about what happens when I delete a message on face book.

I posted a message ( not on wall) and the person was notified by e-mail. I know when you open the e-mail the message can be read without having to go to the face book site. My question is if I delete the message off of face book will it also disappear from the notification e-mail if it has not been read yet ?

I hope I am making myself clear. If not please ask and I will try to explain myself better.

Thank you for your time,

Dennis

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 abauw

abauw

  • Members
  • 951 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kebun Kelapa
  • Local time:09:19 AM

Posted 19 December 2011 - 05:04 PM

On Facebook, if you activate email notification you will receive 2 message, one in your Facebook account and one is on your email account. If you delete that message you will still have a copy of that message in your email account and if you delete that message on email account than you will still have it on your Facebook account except if you has already delete it.

:guitar: Take me to a place where time is frozen
You don't have to close your eyes to dream :busy:
You can find escape inside this moment :smash:
And I will follow  :whistle:


#3 Dennis H

Dennis H
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 893 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 19 December 2011 - 06:27 PM

On Facebook, if you activate email notification you will receive 2 message, one in your Facebook account and one is on your email account. If you delete that message you will still have a copy of that message in your email account and if you delete that message on email account than you will still have it on your Facebook account except if you has already delete it.



Thank you for the reply but I am still not clear on this.


If I go to a friends account and post a message and hit reply that person will get a E-mail notification that a person posted a message. When that person opens the e mail notification he/ she will be able to read the message I posted. ( Nothing to do with facebook e-mail).


What I am wondering is if I delete the message on facebook that was sent in the E-mail notification will it not be shown if the recipient had not yet opened the E-mail. In other words just because I deleted it on the persons facebook page is it to late. They will still see it in the e-mail notification. ?????


Thanks for your patience I am not very good on the Internet.


Dennis

Edited by Dennis H, 19 December 2011 - 06:29 PM.


#4 Animal

Animal

    Bleepin' Animinion


  • Site Admin
  • 34,742 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Where You Least Expect Me To Be
  • Local time:07:19 PM

Posted 19 December 2011 - 08:19 PM

So let me see if I get this Dennis. You want to know if a notification email is appended to remove the content of a wall posting. If you have removed your post on a wall that generated the notification email.

In other words no evidence of your wall posting would exist? Either on the wall or in the content of an unread email notification. That about right?

Since I don't use notifications or have much experience in removing or posting on others walls this is my best guess. From my email experience once an email is sent and it arrives in someones inbox, the original contents cannot be altered. That however does not apply to corporate mail systems. I'm strictly referring to public mail service by ISP's and the freebie ones. Once that email is sent, it's forever until deleted by recipient. I can't imagine Facebook having the ability to 'edit' a delivered email notification.

Hopefully someone with more Facebook knowledge can add their thoughts to confirm or refute my assessment.

The Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life.
Andrew Brown (1938-1994)


A learning experience is one of those things that say, "You know that thing you just did? Don't do that." Douglas Adams (1952-2001)


"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination circles the world." Albert Einstein (1879-1955)


Follow BleepingComputer on: Facebook | Twitter | Google+

#5 the_patriot11

the_patriot11

    High Tech Redneck


  • BC Advisor
  • 6,755 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wyoming USA
  • Local time:07:19 PM

Posted 19 December 2011 - 09:11 PM

When you post on someones wall-it does send them an email. and regardless of whether you delete your post, they will still get that email-emails cannot be taken back, even from facebook posts. so the answer to your question is-once that email is sent, its sent and your plain out of luck.

picard5.jpg

 

Primary system: Motherboard: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, Processor: AMD Phenom II x4 945, Memory: 16 gigs of Patriot G2 DDR3 1600, Video: AMD Sapphire Nitro R9 380, Storage: 1 WD 500 gig HD, 1 Hitachi 500 gig HD, and Power supply: Coolermaster 750 watt, OS: Windows 10 64 bit. 

Media Center: Motherboard: Gigabyte mp61p-S3, Processor: AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+, Memory: 6 gigs Patriot DDR2 800, Video: Gigabyte GeForce GT730, Storage: 500 gig Hitachi, PSU: Seasonic M1211 620W full modular, OS: Windows 10.

If I don't reply within 24 hours of your reply, feel free to send me a pm.


#6 Queen-Evie

Queen-Evie

    Official Bleepin' G.R.I.T.S. (and proud of it)


  • Staff Emeritus
  • 16,485 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:My own little corner of the universe (somewhere in Alabama). It's OK, they know me here
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 19 December 2011 - 09:32 PM

What I am wondering is if I delete the message on facebook that was sent in the E-mail notification will it not be shown if the recipient had not yet opened the E-mail. In other words just because I deleted it on the persons facebook page is it to late. They will still see it in the e-mail notification. ?????
Thanks for your patience I am not very good on the Internet.

Dennis


Correct. It will still be in the email even though the message was deleted on Facebook.

I still have an email which has something my sister posted on Facebook then deleted after I made a reply to her post.

#7 Dennis H

Dennis H
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 893 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 19 December 2011 - 09:36 PM

When you post on someones wall-it does send them an email. and regardless of whether you delete your post, they will still get that email-emails cannot be taken back, even from facebook posts. so the answer to your question is-once that email is sent, its sent and your plain out of luck.



Howdy,

I was not posting on the 'wall' but I posted where it says message. I get a e-mail notification every time that person answers on the running messages we have running. I was just not sure if I deleted the last message posted if it would effect the outcome of the e-mail notification. I guess the answer is no. I must be more careful before I hit submit next time. I mixed up my words and it came out way out of context when i re-read my message. I will just have to apologize.

Thanks to all for the help and for your time.

Dennis

#8 abauw

abauw

  • Members
  • 951 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kebun Kelapa
  • Local time:09:19 AM

Posted 21 December 2011 - 06:38 PM

The key is at Facebook Account Setting - Notification.
Let's hope that you friend uncheck "Sends you a message" setting.

:guitar: Take me to a place where time is frozen
You don't have to close your eyes to dream :busy:
You can find escape inside this moment :smash:
And I will follow  :whistle:





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users