Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojan/MBR infection / hard drive permission issues

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 CarbonBased

CarbonBased

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:00 AM

Posted 11 December 2011 - 10:23 PM

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here, but I've got a virus issue that's way beyond me.

My system:
Windows 7 laptop (no cd/dvd drive) (It's a dell studio.. 17 I believe). I usually use either chrome or firefox on it, and windows is kept up to date. I miss it :(

Symptoms:
When I tried visiting pages, I would have to hit refresh several times before the page actually loaded. At the time I thought it was a dying router, but then one day I was in Chrome and it minimized, showing the desktop, followed by countless error boxes popping up, stating my hard drive was corrupt and to run something like "windows harddrive repair kit" (I don't remember the actual name). Everything from my desktop/libraries disappeared.