Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ubuntu & Netgear WGR614 v7 don't play well

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 lonewolfette9847

lonewolfette9847

• Members
  • 29 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:44 PM

Posted 11 December 2011 - 05:23 AM

I'm a complete newb to Ubuntu (or anything that isn't Windows or Mac) & the most import part of my whole computing experience is missing: NO wireless connectivity! I spent 5 hours tonight/this morning trying to find & figure out how to load the driver for the Netgear WGR614, which is supposedly a Broadcom driver, of which I have no clue.

I love the look & feel of Ubuntu & I'm not paying money for an OS on a laptop that I couldn't even get $1 for trade-in value. But, I'm completely lost now. I love the fact that my 8-year-old HP dv8000 is so much quieter fan-wise (& not heating up as much, therefor) that I don't want to wipe the hard drive again, but I'm in need of some major help.

If anyone can help, talk to me as though I'm an 8-year-old tech wise or I'm just not going to understand anything.

Windows Wireless drivers says that bcmwl5a.inf & del000fz.inf (the Dell modem driver) are both invalid.

I need to go to sleep now. :(

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 stiltskin

stiltskin

• Members
  • 238 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:44 PM

Posted 11 December 2011 - 11:29 AM