Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer wont boot Ubuntu from CD/DVD or USB

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 gamesrmelife

gamesrmelife

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:57 PM

Posted 02 December 2011 - 11:19 AM

Hi, i am a computer novice so any advice is greatly appreciated.

I have an old Fujitsu c-series lifebook C-6155....currently running Windows XP professional at a snails pace. Hoping to speed the computer up slightly I wanted to try out Ubuntu.

I made both a CD and a USB installer (which tested on a different computer both booted successfully.)

I changed the boot order to USB/CD/Hard-drive. However when booting up the computer automatically goes to the hard-drive and Windows boots up.

In an attempt to force boot from either usb or cd I turned 'off' the hard-drive in the order list, but then I get a blank screen with 'no operating system found'

Please help...how do I get the computer to boot from CD or USB...Its basically a paperweight running XP!

THANKS!!!!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 1002 Richard S

1002 Richard S

• Members
  • 277 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:57 AM

Posted 04 December 2011 - 12:31 PM

Have you checked that the CD works by booting in another machine?
It could be a dodgy download or burn - just a thought.

#3 stiltskin

stiltskin

• Members
  • 238 posts
  •