Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

APC UPS Monitoring Software

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 joggiwagga

joggiwagga

• Members
  • 132 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:46 AM

Posted 09 November 2011 - 02:20 PM

First off: I am a complete beginner with Ubuntu and attempting to handle a task handed to me.

We have a server running Ubuntu 10.04 that was set up for local history archives. We have APC SmartUPS-750 which comes with PowerChute - and has an RPM package for Linux.

From the research I've done there seems to be two general options:
-convert the RPM to a DEB using something like Alien, since the RPM will not install as is to Ubuntu. I have tried this and got a whole bunch of errors, and if even with all that it worked there's no indication of where the translated file is (and is actually a frequent comment on the articles describing how to do the conversion).