Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Possible rootkit

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 49er

49er

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:58 AM

Posted 19 October 2011 - 01:03 AM

Hello, this my first post. I'm a computer professional helping a friend with his computer, which is running Vista Basic.

I'm writing because of a message from MBAM. It removed several items, one of which it described as a Rootkit Dropper. I also ran Spybot S&D, which came back clean. I then ran Rootkit Revealer, which produced a very large log (400 MB). I didn't see anything obvious in briefly browsing through it, but I don't know what to look for.

Please suggest programs to run or what to look for in the RKR log. Thank you in advance.

- 49er

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 TheShooter93

TheShooter93

Cody

• Malware Response Team
  • 4,792 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:58 AM

Posted 19 October 2011 - 09:27 AM

Is the computer showing any symptoms of infection?

CCNA R&SCCNA Security | Network+  |  B.S. - Information Technology | Cyber Security Engineer

If I am helping you and have not replied within 48 hours, please send me a private message.

#3 49er

49er
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  

Posted 21 October 2011 - 12:22 AM

No, I don't see any obvious signs. The message from the virus scan is what made me wonder.

#4 TheShooter93