Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Asus A7V8X Nightmare

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 MrBruce1959

MrBruce1959

My cat Oreo

• BC Advisor
  • 6,377 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:58 AM

Posted 17 October 2011 - 02:44 AM

Hello all, being that I am a electronics repair tech and have repaired many electronics devices during my 38 year career, I have finally come across quite a dilemma.

I own an Asus A7V8X motherboard, this particular model motherboard did not have SATA or IEEE1394, some models had it some didn't.

The motherboard can be viewed at this Asus link: http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_Socket_A/A7V8X

Now the motherboard has a socket A 462 Athlon XP 2400+ processor, 3 sticks of PNY 1GB PC3200 DDR memory in each of the 3 slots totaling 3 GB.

The Power supply is an PowerLink Model CWT-500ATX.
Ratings are as follows:
500 WATT Max.
+3.3===30 Amps
+5.0===38 Amps
+12.0==22 Amps
-12.0==0.5 Amps
-5.0===0.5 Amps
+5SB==2.0 Amps

Now I am one of those people who attaches a digital VOM meter up to the various PSU outputs with the system running and checks the DC voltage outputs of each rail.

Outputs were as follows:

3.3==steady 3.20
12.0==steady 12.14
5.0===steady 4.86

AGP video cards use 12.0 rail and 1.5 volts.

The original video card I had was an PNY Nvidia GeForce 6200 256MB DRR video card.

System consisted of: