Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows XP Updates from SP3

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 CCSTech

CCSTech

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:53 AM

Posted 14 October 2011 - 01:09 PM

Hi there,

I'm new to this forum, my name is Justin. I'm a computer technician for a small-town computer repair shop and I wanted to inquire with some experts on this site for some information. So here goes...

On a daily basis, I am tasked with formatting and reinstalling Windows XP on customer machines. We try maintain same-day service so a big aspect of my job is to be quick. But one thing that slows me down each and every time is completing windows updates. So my question is, is there a way to create an install pack with Windows Updates that start at SP3? That way, when it's time to do updates on the machine I'm working on, I can just pop in a disk or pull an executable from my server, and all the updates from the start of SP3 until the time of the creation on the executable file are complete and I would only have to install the newest updates afterwards.

If anyone has accomplished this or has any idea how I could go about obtaining something like this, any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Eyesee

Eyesee

Bleepin Teck Shop

• BC Advisor
  • 3,540 posts
  •