Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Greetings

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 pcrepairman

pcrepairman

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:53 AM

Posted 02 October 2011 - 06:47 AM

As suggested, I am introducing myself. My name is Mark and I have been working on computers professionally for over six years. Before that, I was doing it as a side job for friends and family. I learned BASIC, FORTRAN, and COBOL programming back in the 70's in high school. Bought my first computer in the 80's (a Commodore 64 Plus 4), then a Tandy 1000 EX (a 286 machine if I remember correctly), then a SmartChoice (yeah, that was the name brand on it) 486. The SmartChoice was my first computer with a hard drive (120 MB). During those early years, no one else had a computer and so when I wasn't tinkering with mine, I was flying it.

In college, I had more computer programming classes. FORTRAN (again) and PASCAL. Then as computers began to catch on, friends recommended me to businesses to help them with their computer needs, essentially consulting. I learned all about DOS and batch file programming, then macros, and a little html. Then I got really interested in the hardware aspect of computers and built my first computer from scratch in the late 90's.