Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

installing a new OS

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Reio

Reio

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:43 AM

Posted 18 September 2011 - 04:24 AM

Hi my name is Paul, and i am very new to website and not use to looking for answers this way. But i recently bought a refurbished harddrive online and i can't get an Operating system to stick. I have a burnt copy of windows xp, and a windows xp upgrade. It doesn't recognize the prior OS on it cause its blank. I had a friend format it for me, so it has a partition on it(Don't know if that does any good though). My question is Can you use or go through the recovery Console to add the operating system with what i have? Or do i have togo and just buy the whole thing. I'm just trying to save as much money as i can and not go that route if i don't have to. Thanks for your time and patients.

Moved from System Building to XP forum ~ Hamluis.

Edited by hamluis, 20 September 2011 - 12:18 PM.
Post moved to more appropriate forum.jgw

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DJBPace07

DJBPace07

• BC Advisor
  • 4,869 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:43 AM

Posted 18 September 2011 - 05:04 PM