Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Infected with W32.Morto

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 AllenM

AllenM

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:19 PM

Posted 09 September 2011 - 12:30 PM

Hello there,

First some background on me. I am a software engineer and a computer expert and also a Guru on the Norton Community Forum. It appears that I have been hit for only the second time in over 21 years with a virus.

I have Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit with 4GB of RAM.

My saga is as follows. On Aug 30th I woke up one morning to find NIS (Norton Internet Security) alerting on a file called "cache.txt" located in C"\Windows\Offline Web Pages. Upon investigation it appears to be the W32.Morto WORM. The Symantec security response article is:
http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2011-082908-4116-99&tabid=2
Upon checking the NIS logs I found that the alerts started about 1:30AM while I was sound asleep. Between that time and about 7AM when I woke up, NIS had alerted 49 additional times on this file showing that it was blocked. The first alert at 1:30AM showed that it was quarantined. I started monitoring this directory and as I watched it I could see this file appearing and disappearing over and over again about every 10-15 seconds!