Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Selective startup - making the selections

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 D_Blackwell

D_Blackwell

• Members
  • 59 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:09 AM

Posted 22 August 2011 - 06:35 PM

My old box served me well for nearly eight years. Trying to tweak the new box now. I'm no expert, so I'm pretty careful about trusting anything that I want to do. Some of the startup stuff (especially Dell Stage) was being obnoxious, so that has gotten moved up the priority list.

I have unchecked the following items from System Configuration > Startup:

accuweather
cyberlink brs
Dell DataSafe Online
stage_primary
Roxio Burn
Memeo AutoBackup
Memeo Backup
Memeo Send
Power DVD Language Application
PowerDVD RC Service
Memeo Dashboard
Stage Remote Manager
RealPlayer (32-bit)
Microsoft OneNote

For now, I have left the following checked:

Logitech Download Assistant
Logitech SetPoint
Adobe Updater Startup Utility
IAStorIcon
Catalyst Control Center
Adobe Acrobat
Adobe Reader and Acrobat Manager
CommonSDK - - - (Search suggests Roxio.)
hpwuSchd Application - - - (Don't get me started on HP software.)
Java™ Platform SE Auto Updater 20