Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

no 'start'bar,can't log onto IE, and programs dont open

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Tinafay

Tinafay

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:16 AM

Posted 15 August 2011 - 07:00 PM

Hi there, I am completely new to this stuff. I don't know what the majority of what you are telling people to do means, but here goes. Last week when I went to bed one night, everything was fine. I was logged in to facebook and I believe ebay. When I got up the next morning, I had no start bar at the bottom of screen (and still don't) I have the icon for IE on my desktop but that won't open. Somehow I found "my computer" and tried to click on different programs or different favorites I normally used. I get the same thing each time, windows cannot find device.

I tried to run a scan, but no matter what I check to scan, it immediately comes back "disabled", so nothing runs.