Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

CPU Core Temps really high

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 tallen97

tallen97

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:34 PM

Posted 05 August 2011 - 02:08 AM

Hi, I'm new to BleepingComputer my name is Tom. Today I bought Windows7 and did a fresh install from WinXP. The hardware changes I made were adding my other 10k rpm raptor hd so I can run Win7 in raid0 config. I couldn't get it to work for WinXP. Everything has gone smooth with all the installation. The problem I'm experiencing is high core temps on my i7-860 quad core. When I had XP installed, I was idleing at 38-43C and running 68-74C while running games. Now I'm idleing anywhere from 42-65C and I'm hitting 95+C while running BFBC2. I didnt notice this until I first installed BFBC2 and it kept crashing on me, during loading my pc shuts down completely. I don't understand why my core temps are so crazy now. Is it because of the hard drives in Raid config? Could it be my power supply is faulty? Any help would b greatly appreciated, Thankyou!

P.S. I am running a stock intel cooler fan(i know....i just ordered a coolermaster from newegg). Although I'm running a stock cooler, under XP my temps were still ok..

SystemSpecs:
Gigabyte P55A-UD3 mobo
Intel i7-860@2.8ghz
4g OCZ ram1600
Asus GTX560 1GB
Xion 600watt PS
2 WD Raptor 10k rpm hd's