Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What Security Do I Need?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dan9119

dan9119

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:14 PM

Posted 15 January 2006 - 11:30 AM

I am a novice at computers and internet surfing. What protection do I really need from the big bad internet. Like everyone else, I would prefer the programs to be free, but would be willing to pay if that is what is needed to keep my system safe from viruses and such. I run Windows XP home edition and use my computer mostley for e-mails and surfing websites for information and entertainment. Any suggestions? Right now I am leanig towards AVG and ZoneAlarm and anything else if needed.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 tg1911

tg1911

Lord Spam Magnet

• Members
  • 19,274 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:14 PM

Posted 15 January 2006 - 01:03 PM

Free Antivirus':
(Choose only one)
Antivir
Avast Free
AVG Free
Bitdefender Free

Free Firewalls:
(Choose only one)
ZoneAlarm Free
Sygate Personal Firewall
Outpost Firewall Free
Kerio

Free Anti-spyware Programs:
(I use all of them)
aČ free
ewido security suite
Ad-Aware
Spybot S&D

These 2, will help prevent spyware/malware from being installed in the first place:
Spywareblaster
SpywareGuard