Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Code 10 Nightmares

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 shiday

shiday

• Members
  • 47 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:09 AM

Posted 14 January 2006 - 08:04 AM

It seems to happen very often, in the device manager is "Code 10- this device cannot start"

I am a computer tech and have not only seen this on many customers pcs but also on one of mine.

Examples;

One of my pcs has the code 10 problem on the network card (both onboard and a pci card) and no matter what is done, no use of the network card is possible. I have uninstalled/reinstalled windows, tried different known good cards, and a multitude of other things to no prevail.

Another example of this is a customers computer that has "Code 10- this device cannot start"
on their sound card in the device manager. I talked to them and he said that Dell has been out to his house and has swapped out motherboards and everything and the problem still comes back.

SO WHY AM I BRINGING THIS UP??

I have not ever seen a correct fix or reference to a fix for this problem. All of Microsoft's knowledge base articles have been a bunch or rambling bs like "follow the built in windows troubleshooter" I might as well let the neighbors dog do the troubleshiooting than follow that damn thing.....