Jump to content
Posted 19 July 2011 - 01:16 PM
Posted 19 July 2011 - 03:25 PM
Posted 19 July 2011 - 03:31 PM
To keep protected information secure, after a password is reset on a local user account, some types of information are no longer accessible, including the following:
- E-mail that is encrypted with the user's public key
- Internet passwords that are saved on the computer
- Files that the user has encrypted
If you want to avoid this type of data loss, do not reset a user's password. When you create a new local user account, have the user create a password reset disk. Then, if the user forgets the password, the password reset disk can be used to reset the password without data loss. If a user forgets the password to a domain user account, the password must be reset manually.
For more information about what you should know before you reset a password, search Help and Support for the topic "What are the risks of resetting a password?"
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users