Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Removing A workstation From the Domain

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 valley_girl1919

valley_girl1919

• Members
  • 24 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:57 PM

Posted 07 July 2011 - 10:55 PM

I am new at a lot of this at work, so am reaching out to someone who may be a little more advanced than me.

Right now at work I have a PC a user is having problems with, so I am going to replace it with a newer workstation. I want to make sure the following actions are correct for adding and removing a workstation on a domain: First, I should remove the PC that is having issues from our domain, then after connecting the new workstation I add it to the domain with the same name as the workstation with issues. We have dhcp enabled for the workstations to obtain IP addresses.

Does this seem to be the correct way to add/remove a workstation from the domain? Any info or advice I would appreciate. Is there something else I should be doing?

We use WinXP SP3 on all workstations.

Edited by valley_girl1919, 07 July 2011 - 10:58 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 keyboardNinja

keyboardNinja

Bleepin' Ninja

• Members
  • 4,815 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:57 PM

Posted 07 July 2011 - 11:24 PM

Good question. :)