Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Thunderbird certificates?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 millipede

millipede

• Members
  • 662 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:34 AM

Posted 06 July 2011 - 04:57 PM

I've been using thunderbird for several years now and have never had an issue like this.
Today I went to check my email and this popped up...

Add Security Exception

You are about to override how Thunderbird identifies this site.
Legitimate banks, stores, and other public sites will not ask you to do this.

Server
Location: pop.centurytel.net:(port number listed here) [Get Certificate] <- button, when pressed does nothing.

Certificate Status
This site attempts to identify itself with invalid information [view] <- another button

Wrong Site

Certificate belongs to a different site, which could indicate an identity theft.
Outdated Information

Certificate is not currently valid. It is impossible to verify whether this identity was reported as stolen or lost.

[]Permanently store this exception

[confirm security exception] [cancel]

What is this about? I can't check my email right now, well my gmail works fine, unless I do something. I don't want to confirm some security thing I don't know about. Any ideas?
It looks like the certificate for my email/internet provider expires today... You'd think they'd be on top of something like that.