Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Reinstallation of Max OS X

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Latitude

Latitude

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:24 PM

Posted 05 July 2011 - 11:47 PM

I'm new to the world of Macs. Much more of a PC guy. In fact this is the first time I turned one on and it was to help a friend who has a old G3 Ibook A1007.

It was missing a power cord and he doesn't remember his account password to it. Apart from that he said there was another issue such as it not going online or something so I figured I would just
reinstall the whole operating system and give it a clean slate to work with.

Well the data is backed up. I did some reading and found out this is a PPC processor but still has the OS X installed on it.

He no longer has the original software installation disk so I downloaded a few versions online. Each one specified "PPC And Intel" or some such. And yet 3 expensive DVD-DL later and
I've still had no luck.

OS 9 did fine but I don't want to stick him with that. I tried OS X from flash disk, root HDD, and the dvd's.

Can you steer me in the right direction? This project of a "few hours" has started to become days and I am getting very burnt out on it....

The grey Apple screen comes on but it finishes loading. 30+ minutes later.... nothing.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 keyboardNinja