Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Google search results redirected


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 planwave13

planwave13

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:02:36 PM

Posted 05 July 2011 - 12:46 PM

I've been having this problem for around a week now. It seems to be pretty common from what I can tell searching online and looking around the forums here. Whenever I search in Google the results are redirected to an ad or an unrelated site. I've looked around online and tried many of the suggestions (malwarebytes, tdsskiller, hitman3.5, a-squared), but none of them seemed to have worked. I'm only having the problem on Firefox, and it seems to only be a problem in Google. Bing and Yahoo are working fine. There are other machines on the same router, but they aren't experiencing this problem. Thanks so much for any help.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 boopme

boopme

    To Insanity and Beyond


  • Global Moderator
  • 73,082 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NJ USA
  • Local time:04:36 PM

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:04 PM

Your HOSTS file may be infected.
Reset the HOSTS file
As this infection also changes your Windows HOSTS file, we want to replace this file with the default version for your operating system.
Some types of malware will alter the HOSTS file as part of its infection. Please follow the instructions provided in How do I reset the hosts file back to the default?

To reset the hosts file automatically,go HERE click the Posted Image button. Then just follow the prompts in the Fix it wizard.


OR
Click Run in the File Download dialog box or save MicrosoftFixit50267.msi to your Desktop and double-click on it to run. Then just follow the promots in the Fix it wizard.

Try Disabling addons in FF one at a time to see if one is causing this.
How do I get help? Who is helping me?For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear....Become a BleepingComputer fan: Facebook

#3 planwave13

planwave13
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:02:36 PM

Posted 05 July 2011 - 02:38 PM

Your HOSTS file may be infected.


I actually also looked into this when I was researching the problem. The hosts file seemed normal to me. It appeared as it was supposed to according to the sites I viewed, anyway.

Try Disabling addons in FF one at a time to see if one is causing this.


I disabled an addon called "XUL Cache 1.0". Described as "XUL Cache support for firefox extensions/plugins." This seemed to cure the problem. Looking around online appears to reveal this is the malware that was causing the problem. I've uninstalled this addon.

Would you recommend any other actions? Thanks for the help. I can't believe it was such an easy fix.

#4 boopme

boopme

    To Insanity and Beyond


  • Global Moderator
  • 73,082 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NJ USA
  • Local time:04:36 PM

Posted 05 July 2011 - 09:23 PM

We never got your operating sytem so...
If there are no more problems or signs of infection, you should Create a New Restore Point to prevent possible reinfection from an old one. Some of the malware you picked up could have been saved in System Restore. Since this is a protected directory your tools cannot access to delete these files, they sometimes can reinfect your system if you accidentally use an old restore point. Setting a new restore point AFTER cleaning your system will help prevent this and enable your computer to "roll-back" to a clean working state.

The easiest and safest way to do this is:
  • Go to Start > Programs > Accessories > System Tools and click "System Restore".
  • Choose the radio button marked "Create a Restore Point" on the first screen then click "Next". Give the R.P. a name, then click "Create". The new point will be stamped with the current date and time. Keep a log of this so you can find it easily should you need to use System Restore.
  • Then use Disk Cleanup to remove all but the most recently created Restore Point.
  • Go to Start > Run and type: Cleanmgr
  • Click "Ok". Disk Cleanup will scan your files for several minutes, then open.
  • Click the "More Options" tab, then click the "Clean up" button under System Restore.
  • Click Ok. You will be prompted with "Are you sure you want to delete all but the most recent restore point?"
  • Click Yes, then click Ok.
  • Click Yes again when prompted with "Are you sure you want to perform these actions?"
  • Disk Cleanup will remove the files and close automatically.
Vista Users can refer to these links: Create a New Restore Point and Disk Cleanup.

Tips to protect yourself against malware and reduce the potential for re-infection:Avoid gaming sites, pirated software, cracking tools, keygens, and peer-to-peer (P2P) file sharing programs. They are a security risk which can make your computer susceptible to a smörgåsbord of malware infections, remote attacks, exposure of personal information, and identity theft. Many malicious worms and Trojans spread across P2P file sharing networks, gaming and underground sites. Users visiting such pages may see innocuous-looking banner ads containing code which can trigger pop-up ads and malicious Flash ads that install viruses, Trojans and spyware. Ads are a target for hackers because they offer a stealthy way to distribute malware to a wide range of Internet users. The best way to reduce the risk of infection is to avoid these types of web sites and not use any P2P applications. Read P2P Software User Advisories and Risks of File-Sharing Technology.

Keeping Autorun enabled on USB and other removable drives has become a significant security risk due to the increasing number of malware variants that can infect them and transfer the infection to your computer. To learn more about this risk, please read:
How do I get help? Who is helping me?For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear....Become a BleepingComputer fan: Facebook




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users