Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

ComboFix changes folder attributes to hidden

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 AllenRisler

AllenRisler

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:23 AM

Posted 26 June 2011 - 10:10 AM

I have been using ComboFix for several months with no problems. It has been a real life saver at times.
The last view times I used it I noticed that it changed all of the users Documents and Settings to hidden and read only, which has not been to hard to fix, folder, attributes, uncheck hidden, uncheck read only, apply to all files and subfolders.
The last time it used Combo Fix, it did this to the entire C: Drive. I first noticed the problem when I clicked on start, programs, and no programs where showing. Then I noticed that my hard drive capacity had almost no free space. I starting looking for stuff to delete, and found a new CombiFix folder at the root of C:. When I double-clicked on it, I saw the same thing you see when you click on My Computer, so I double-clicked on C:\ComboFix and found that it repeats over and over until it used up all the hard drive capacity.

Edit: Moved topic from Introductions to the more appropriate forum. ~ Animal

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 cryptodan

cryptodan

Bleepin Madman

• Members
  • 21,868 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:23 AM