Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows XP Restore malware

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Striper

Striper

• Members
  • 42 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:53 AM

Posted 19 June 2011 - 09:25 PM

Hey guys! Self-proclaimed noob here with my first post. First, I have to say, as a member of several self-help forum websites, this is hands down THE BEST one. Everyone here...moderators and members...are always willing to help - and always in an understanding and non-judgemental way (at least that I've seen so far!)- a refreshing change!

So I come before you, on my knees, hat in hand, begging you to part the waters before me and show me the way.

My machine: older HP Pavillion a800n - if needed I can figure out the detailed specs, but it's the standard set up.
Windows XP Pro
5 Windows accounts (and this is kinda significant):

Mine
Wife
Kid 1
Kid 2
Kid 3

My problem: A couple of weeks ago, the wife told me "our computer's dead." I logged in to my account, and all appeared fine - sluggish as always - but otherwise normal. Logged in to her account, and YIKES! Teal-green screen, then black screen, then the dreaded Windows XP Restore screen and it's associated nonsense (probably not necessary to describe, you've all seen it). Of course it went on to it's shenanigans...hiding icons and files (on all 5 accounts), etc.