Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Looking to buy a new anti-virus software; which of these options is best?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 dorsia

dorsia

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:27 PM

Posted 17 June 2011 - 02:31 PM

I've been using Norton 360 for the past 2 years with mixed results; it's done a pretty good job of protecting my computer but has still let a few things slip by that were only detected/eliminated with MBAM or HijackThis. My biggest problem with it has been how much it slows my computer down, as well as the "idle time" scans that run in the background that you apparently can't turn off...these scans have interfered with things like recording security camera footage while I'm away from home (there will be big gaps in the video from when the idle scans ran) or lengthy downloads that get slowed to a halt as a result. Also, after doing some research on it I've found pretty much universally negative feedback for Norton products, with most people calling it "bloatware" and saying it does more harm than good.