Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Limited Or No Connectivity Message

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 lurkynot

lurkynot

• Members
  • 86 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:34 PM

Posted 08 January 2006 - 11:15 AM

Hello all. I am new to this wireless/networking configuring. I just received a new desktop which I have no problems with it directly connected to the internet - DSL. I tried configuring a wireless Linksys router donated from a family member to connect my sons laptop which is also from the same donor. This donated hardware was configured in a wireless net work before so I am sure I have the correct hardware and that it was working. When I connect my new desktop to the wireless router I get an "limited or no connectivity" error message. Any suggestions? Thanks :thumbsup:

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Snapper

Snapper

• Members
  • 550 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:34 PM

Posted 08 January 2006 - 02:38 PM

assuming you have a wireless card, and running the utility provided with the card, was there any "encryption" that was memtioned when the wireless router was donated?
your best bet is to ...
1.hard reset your router (power down router,press and hold the reset button ,on back of router, power up router, wait 30 seconds, let go of reset button, then power down, then power up router)