Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Avast and Malwarebytes freeze at same spot...infection?

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 pdxgti8v

pdxgti8v

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:40 PM

Posted 05 June 2011 - 10:21 PM

Hello all,

Newbie here.

Toshiba Satellite, Intel Core2 Duo t5900, 4.0GB RAM, Windows Visa Home Premium 64 bit SP2. Computer is 3 years old

current security products: Avast Free, SuperAntiSpyware, and Spybot

I had been running MalwareBytes for a year, until recently it began freezing my system during scans. I've uninstalled and reinstalled it several times and it keeps freezing my computer at "c:\windows\microsoft.NET\framework\v2.0.50727\uninstallmembership.sql". I tried following the procedures from the Malwarebytes forums regarding, installing it in Safe mode, renaming the program, etc... and none of that lets the program work properly...

Today, I ran my Avast, and once again, the scan for Avast stopped and froze my computer at "c:\windows\microsoft.NET\framework\v2.0.50727\uninstallmembership.sql"

In both instances, using control alt delete wont "unfreeze" the computer, and I end up having to just shutdown the computer with on/off button. When I turn the computer back on, everything boots in regular mode, no problem.