Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can't see old files, Invisible?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Luke Daniel

Luke Daniel

• Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:11 PM

Posted 04 June 2011 - 06:30 PM

This morning I thought I'd look through some old files. I am an art student so I have thousands of old works photographed and organized. The folders were missing. I ran Windows Directory Statistics to see if I could find the files, hoping that they had not been deleted by a virus or something terrible. To my surprise they still exist, exactly where they should. So, still in WinDirStat, I right click and select explore. The explorer window opens but "The folder I have selected is empty". So I return to WinDirStat, right-click an image, and this time select open. The image opens in the preview window just as it should. So I know the files exist, I just can't seem to see them in the folder.
Also, after another restart ALL files on the desktop have also vanished!