Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Likely malicious html file - can someone take a look?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Charlie Tounah

Charlie Tounah

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:03 AM

Posted 04 June 2011 - 09:24 AM

Hi,

I'm a consultant, with a client that received an email with a suspicious link. I was able to download the html file from the redirected site without running it, and took a look at it in a text editor. It's obviously specially crafted, but it's beyond my ability to decipher. Could anyone interpret the file to figure out what the payload is supposed to be?

It's a 191K file, and I'm not sure how best to attach it. If someone could let me know, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks in advance,

Charlie T.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Andrew

Andrew

Bleepin' Night Watchman

• 8,259 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:03 PM

Posted 04 June 2011 - 12:09 PM

You can upload it here. Please put it in a .zip archive first.

#3 Charlie Tounah

Charlie Tounah
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  

Posted 04 June 2011 - 03:37 PM

Hi, I just uploaded the file as requested.

Thanks,
Charlie T.

#4 Andrew

Andrew

Bleepin' Night Watchman

• 8,259 posts
  •  

Posted 04 June 2011 - 04:32 PM