Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

XP Infected with YWJCRFUITUSQDA.EXE

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 CatLadyDi

CatLadyDi

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:25 AM

Posted 25 May 2011 - 09:19 PM

I'm a newbie here and am trying not to post anything to the wrong location, so please redirect me as appropriate.

OS is Windows XP. I have AVG free edition that I think supposedly runs in the background to alert to threats as they are encountered, but had not updated in a month or so. Using IE8 as browser.

After a thunderstorm, another user on my home PC found an "official-looking" window displayed that explained that the PC had critical errors and presented a scanner and fix to the errors. He assumed that the errors were the result of the T-storm and that the message was legit, so he ran the scan and "fixed" the errors. Of course, some appeared to be fixed but others required purchasing the full version of whatever this was. He is not very computer-savy so he did not go any further and asked me to take a look at it. It looked suspicious to me as I could not recall ever getting a message regarding critical errors without having run a scan, so I suspected malware of some sort . I also could not find any sort of identification related to the owner of the site/software I was "supposed" to buy.