Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New build/ Complex issues

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Crewman48

Crewman48

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:54 PM

Posted 20 May 2011 - 07:34 PM

I'm a first time builder. I started with a stone age Dell and wanted to build my own system for flexibility and for the ability to upgrade. I made sure that all my equipment was compatible: Biostar H55A+ Mobo, Intel i3 3.2ghz, kingston 2g DDR3 1333mhz, 600W Eagle PSU, and VisionTech 512M PCIe video card... I wanted to scavenge the HD and DVD multi drive out of the old Dell ***(Budget)*** The WD1600JB Hard Drive and the Hitachi 65A-4040B DVD multi drive are both IDE(PATA) and the Biostar mobo only has SATA connectors. So for the low low price of $12 I bought 2 IDE to SATA adapters and installed them per the instructions. The problem occurs when I try and boot the system. The HD nor the DVDrom are recognized... not even in BIOS. The adapters claim to convert the IDE to SATA1 and the board is rated for SATA2; which in doing some research is backwards compatible. I've tried every recomended jumper position for the HD and DVDrom with no avail. I'm already over budget and buying a SATA DVD and HD are out of the question. Any help is greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 the_patriot11

the_patriot11

High Tech Redneck

• BC Advisor