Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I done brokened it real good

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Tone2theBone

Tone2theBone

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:12 AM

Posted 18 May 2011 - 11:31 AM

I work as a consultant and clean malware all the time. My standard M.O. is to run Malwarebytes first and if that doesn't fix an infection, run ComboFix. So I am at fault for ignoring the warnings. Here's my story....

Day 1
A user complains his desktop icons are missing. I remote in and see hard disk error popups (fake) and run Malwarebytes, which finds and removed a bunch of things, PC seems OK after reboot.

Day 2