Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Explorer Policies. NoDesktop

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 rlei1130

rlei1130

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:44 AM

Posted 15 May 2011 - 11:37 AM

Hi all. This is my first time posting, luckily, because I haven't really had any computer problems prior to now. A week or so ago, my computer was attacked by some type of virus, which kept prompting me to purchase a program to help "Defrag" my computer. After some research, it seems as though it was a virus called "Win Defrag" or "Safe Defrag" or something along the lines.

Some things that have been affected are:
  • All program files and documents became hidden and read-only
  • the start button had no programs, or documents on it
  • all my short cuts were deleted

All of these have since been resolved, but there is still one problem that I am having.
My desktop is locked...
By locked I mean that I can't change the back ground. I can't put any Icons on the Desktop. All the Icons and folders that were on the desktop still appear when I view the desktop through My Computer. But while looking at the desktop with everything else minimized, nothing is there.

I've tried to right click>arrange Icons>Show Icons or whatever it is...but it won't even let me right click on the desktop.