Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

possible "windows restore" infection?

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 renrose

renrose

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:18 PM

Posted 10 May 2011 - 04:06 PM

Hi all - total newbie here and if I am posting in the wrong topic - yell gently and point me to the right one.

Ok so last night I am minding my own business doing my thing online, I am a couponer so I am all over the place to various sites getting my precious pennies. Fool that I am I was doing this in IE8. Yeah I know - I smacked myself for it after too. Neeeeways, I have Windows 7, 300GB plus HD and about 8GB ram so system is pretty stout. It's an out of the box Gateway about a year old. I have some computer experience but it has been 12 years since I have done anything of import so I must admit that I am WAY out of touch and quite honestly, got lazy about my security.