Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I am new to this program and need help, computer seems slow and sometimes freezes.

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 AJJMH

AJJMH

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:03 AM

Posted 06 May 2011 - 08:49 AM

I am having trouble with my computer which is still farely new (got it at christmas time),. The computer was built by Cyberpower has Intel Core i5 CPU 650@3.20GHz 3.19GHz, 4.0 GB RAM, 64 bit operatings system in it. I have recently been having trouble where I click to go from one page to another whil on internet, and it seems to freeze up and take a minute or so to catch up. I have 94% free memory so it does not seem it should be freezing or running slow as it is. I run Norton security on it and if anything it only ever comes up with tracking cookies.

When I go into Hijack this and click on run scan and safe results I have a box that comes up saying For some reason your system denied write access to the Hosts file. If any hijacked domains are in this file, Hijack This may not be able to fix this.

If that happens, you need to edit the file yourself. To do this, click Start, blah, blah, blah....