Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Did UNetbootin installed something else?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 FlyerX

FlyerX

  • Members
  • 134 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:10:48 AM

Posted 28 April 2011 - 05:51 PM

Hi!

i just wanted to have a USB bootable pendrive in case of emergency, and i found that the UNetbooting software could take my image and put it into a USB stick, everything seems right

but when i started the proccess i see the "Restart" option at the 4th step
Posted Image

my problem question its quite simple.
WHY?

why it ask me to restart? i suspect that it wast created in order that just after you finish creating the bootable USB restart to try it... but why if i don't want, i just wanted to make a copy and to save the usb stick in a safe place and continue working... but what is my fear about it? and what about if that intrusive software has made any modification in my system? because no necessarily the system i use to run the program is the system i need to boot from usb..

and what about this?:

the software webpage says:
http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

For the Hard Disk / "frugal install" mode, UNetbootin uses a Windows or Linux-based installer to install a small modification to the bootloader (bootmgr and bcdedit on Vista, grldr and boot.ini for NT-based systems, grub.exe and config.sys for Win9x, or GRUB on Linux, uses the bootloader to boot the desired distribution's installer or to load the system utility, no CD required. After the distribution has been installed, or once done using the system utility, the modification to the bootloader is then undone.


WHY?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Brendan440

Brendan440

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:10:48 AM

Posted 29 April 2011 - 11:01 AM

Really?

It wants to reboot for the reason I think you already stated, it wants you to test the USB Pendrive you just made. I have used that tool a few times and always test it, because sometimes I have had issues. You don't want to make a drive and then not know if it works or not.

If you are that worried download the source code and look through it. That's the beauty of software on SourceForge.

Brendan

#3 Barthez

Barthez

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
  • Local time:05:48 PM

Posted 30 April 2011 - 01:12 AM

1. You don't have to reboot, it's just a step needed to test your newly created LiveUSB;

2. The quote you posted is referring to installing a linux distribution on your local hard disk. Since Windows boot loaders weren't created to dual-boot with linux they have to be altered. If you plan on making LiveUSB then you don't have to worry about it.




HTH


Barthez

Posted Image

#4 FlyerX

FlyerX
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 134 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:10:48 AM

Posted 02 May 2011 - 10:23 PM

Ok,
Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users