Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Lost my background...Fearing what else i'm not noticing

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 patterst

patterst

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:50 PM

Posted 27 April 2011 - 10:32 PM

I'm fairly new to this game, but my computer has been a little skiddish lately. Basically, I'm running XP Media Center addition, walked away from my computer while watching an episode of House on Hulu, came back to find my desktop background had shifted to a bluegray matte, rather than my custome photo. Makes me worry what else is going wrong. Please help, will answer as many questions as I can to aleviate this problem.

Edited by boopme, 28 April 2011 - 07:18 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 boopme

boopme

To Insanity and Beyond

• Global Moderator
  • 73,329 posts
  •  

Posted 27 April 2011 - 10:54 PM

Hello and welcome.
Click Ctrl + Alt + Del to get the task manager up.
On the 'Processes' tab find "explorer.exe" and end that process.
Your desktop will go away.
Click on the 'Applications' tab and click New Task.
Enter explorer.exe as the task to start.
Your desktop will then come back.
Now try to launch IE again.

Next run MBAM (MalwareBytes):

Please download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and save it to your desktop.
Download Link 1