Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New Hd Questions Re; Double Data?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 kazily

kazily

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:03 PM

Posted 01 January 2006 - 02:49 PM

I'm glad I found this forum! I am a complete novice. I added a new HD to my Gateway PC. Old HD is a Maxtor 20 GB set to slave. New one is WD Caviar 80 GB set to Master. I used WD's copy utility CD to copy data to the new bootable drive since it is bigger storage & faster.

I partitioned the new HD with 2 partitons (20 GB fat-32 & 60 GB NTFS). Close to that anyway lol! The Western Digital Lifetools copied everything over.

I ASSume I now have 2 win XP's and 2 copies of everything else that is on the old drive? There was no information on the cd about what to do about this. I looked at WD website but couldn't find the info I need.

One oddity: the old drive has 13 GB used 5 GB free. After copying...the "new" C drive has 17 GB used space 1.7 free so is that because it copied the free space? Just a guess. I'm so out of my league lol!

I appreciate any suggestions for a novice on what to do with the old drive (now designated as letter F...this is so frustrating I can think of a word that would stand for :thumbsup: ) The 2nd partition is G I think...